## **Press Release**



Zentrum Bundesrepublik Deutschland des Internationalen Theaterinstituts Mariannenplatz 2 D-10997 Berlin Tel: +49 (0)30 611 07 65 0 Fax: +49 (0)30 611 07 65 22 www.iti-germany.de redaktion@iti-germany.de

Tuesday 8 March 2017

## ITI Prize 2017 awarded to Yael Ronen

Yael Ronen will be awarded this year's International Theatre Institute (German Centre) Prize. The decision for the Israeli director and author will be announced by the ITI president Joachim Lux after the German ITI Berlin's board meeting.

"In her pieces, Yael Ronen treads," as the ITI president stated, "the mined territory of intercultural conflicts. And how! Her works are playful, unselfconscious, light, non-ideological, never overly moral nor politically correct. This rarely exists in German theatre. And that in the context of an issue in which you can generally only make mistakes? With an unerring directness and humour, Yael Ronen is only interested in life itself, in all its contradictions and in nothing else – and in this way, she performs her way into the audience's heart."

By choosing Yael Ronen, the German ITI is honouring a theatre personality that is considered one of the most important and provocative theatre professionals in Israel. In 2008, the co-production of the Habimah-Theater / Schaubühne Berlin celebrated its premiere; "Dritte Generation" premiered at Theater der Welt in Halle. Ronen's pieces "Plonter", "Reiseführer in das gute Leben" and "The Day Before the Last Day" were shown in the context of F.I.N.D. at Berlin's Schaubühne. "Common Ground" and "The Situation", which she produced at the Maxim Gorki Theater, were invited to the Berliner Theatertreffen. For her staging of "Hakoah Wien" (Schauspielhaus Graz, 2012), Yael Ronen received the Nestroy Prize 2013. Additional information at www.iti-germany.

Since 1985, the German ITI has been honouring people on an annual basis who are active in the German-language theatre landscape and whose work is of highest quality and international relevance. For the first time this year, the prize is endowed with EUR 3,000.

The prize will be awarded in the context of Theater der Welt 2017 in Hamburg. We will announce the scheduling well in advance.

The list of past ITI prize winners includes: Klaus Michael Grüber, George Tabori, the Mülheimer Theatertage, the editors for theatre and music of the Zweite Deutsche Fernsehen, Karl-Ernst Herrmann, Pina Bausch, Hans Werner Henze, Peter Palitzsch, Thomas Langhoff, Tankred Dorst, Siegfried Matthus, William Forsythe, Gert Voss, Achim Freyer, Volker Ludwig, Adolf Dresen, Manfred Linke and the Forum Junger Bühnenangehöriger der Berliner Festspiele, Roberto Ciulli and the Theater an der Ruhr, Frank Castorf, Nele Hertling, Kurt Hübner, Heiner Goebbels, Peter Konwitschny, Andrzej Wirth, Jürgen Gosch, the directing and stage designer team of Christoph Marthaler and Anna Viebrock, Dea Loher, Jürgen Schitthelm, Henning Rischbieter, Johan Simons and Joachim Fiebach. The director and author Milo Rau was awarded the prize in 2016.